EWGA Championship

The EWGA Championship started in 1995.  It is now the largest women’s amateur golf competition in the world and we want YOU to be a part of the fun and excitement.  Members of all skill levels are encouraged to compete so give the Championship a try and put your game to the test!  You must have an established handicap to participate in the EWGA Championship.

Stages of the EWGA Championship

  • The Chapter Championship (Cha Cha) is an 18-hole local qualifying round held at each Chapter location. In 2017 Cha Cha will be held on July 8th at Stone Wall Golf Course in Gainesville, VA.

  • The Chesapeake Region Semi-Final Championship is an 18-hole round to be held on Aug 5th at The Links at Lighthouse Sound in Bishipville, MD. 

  • The EWGA Championship Finals, a two-day, 36 hole event held on October 6-7, 2017 at Hot Springs Village - Grenada, Ponce de Leon & Magellan Courses in Hot Springs, AR.

The EWGA Championship offers two different competitive formats: Stroke Play Competition and Inter-Chapter Team Scramble Competition. You select the competitive format that best fits your game, personality and skill level.

Stroke Play Competition

Stroke play competitors play in one of five flights at the Chapter Championship qualifying event based upon their USGA Handicap Index.



Handicap Range



0.0 to 12.0



12.1 to 19.0



19.1 to 25.0



25.1 to 32.0



32.1 to 40.4

Inter-Chapter Scramble competition

Inter-Chapter scramble teams consist of four (4) women who meet the eligibility requirements to play in the EWGA Championship.  The team “handicap factor” is established based on the USGA Handicap Index of all four players. 

ALL EWGA DC members with an established handicap are encouraged to play. There is a time and cost commitment with this series, however, if you win and can’t continue on, you may decline and the person who came in second has the opportunity to advance.